God’s Executive Assistants

By Jon Edmonds, Executive DirectorJonEdmonds
Movement Day Greater Dallas
www.movementdaygreaterdallas.com

In my role of Executive Director of Movement Day Greater Dallas, I have quickly realized that this is a true “start-up” ministry. For the first time in over twenty years, I have no Executive Assistant or Administrative Assistant. I am experiencing days that I am critical of myself for not being as efficient or responsive as my self-expected standard. I am often fatigued by the many functions that have me running from here to there to get things accomplished. These are vital tasks that I have come to count on and expect an assistant to “handle” on my behalf. There are literally hundreds of tasks, both small and large, that in the past, were someone’s responsibility to complete with excellence. As soon as we can establish a financial base that affords us the budget to hire an assistant, it will be the first thing I will do because the work must be done. Someone MUST complete it.A few days ago, while I was having a pity-party, thinking about everything I had to get done that day (after I woke up, just before my morning devotion), I thought about God in this context. God willingly assigned the awesome responsibility of Kingdom building to His church, his children, His people. In Matthew 28, starting at verse 18, Jesus, this Divine Executive, states that all authority in heaven and earth is given to Him. And in a great show of confidence in us, He follows that statement with a responsibility for us to complete. “Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all things that I have commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.”

Therefore, as the Movement Day Greater Dallas staff, our partners, and our volunteers carry out our mission, we should remember that God is counting on us and expecting us (like His Executive Assistants) to work with excellence, completing the vital assignments that lead to success. And when I check the record, I see that He has outstanding compensation. Oh, by the way, when you see your support staff today, give them a Holy hug.

One thought on “God’s Executive Assistants”

Leave a Reply

