// INITIATIVE:: Seventh Day

And On the Seventh Day…

read more…

Written by Mallory Bingaman | Photo by Alexa Mihalick

I’m sitting in the corner of my living room in an area I like to call “the nook.”

I am surrounded by folders, papers, my planner, and an abundance of thoughts. A planner, meant to organize. My folders, they hold the contents of my work. My papers, give instruction and information. My thoughts, the things that should be fuel to accomplish success.There’s so much on my plate right now, and I am not really enjoying the anxiety of it all. I know there are people who enjoy being busy and well, I do at times, but right now I am thinking of how much I would like to just watch a movie and nap.

I sit among many things to be accomplished and remember that I have been given opportunities in a multitude of areas: an education, church community, friends, Initiative, my job, my sorority, whatever else. What a heavy load, friends? I let it overtake my thoughts and become lethargic. I mean, why try when there is so much to be done? Wait, read that again. That sounds, well, really foolish. I have been entrusted with many things, my attitude should reflect joy. Since I have been entrusted with many things, I also need to rest.

Guys, the mind of a Christian should be constantly set upon Christ. Obviously, as fallen people, we get caught up in the ridiculous things of the earth and forget how privileged we are as believers. We know that we are held by the power of the gospel, even when it comes to just walking through difficult schedules.

It really comes down to a decision.

More Than You Can Bear…

Now, the saying, “God will never give you more than you can handle” I don’t necessarily agree with, because I think that sometimes he will allow you to be loaded up with things. Whether it’s emotional, spiritual, or even just a heavy schedule, sometimes it will be too much. HOWEVER, this is the cool thing, God will always be right next to you just waiting to take the stress and anxiety from you. I mean, he told us to lay it upon him. Me being a person who has struggled with anxiety and depression, I know this is not an easy process.

When you are struggling with waking up to get things done? Choose joy. When that isn’t enough? Ask for help. In a world of constant checklists and resumes of accomplishments, it is easy to feel overwhelmed, behind and just not good enough for the tasks at hand. You’re not alone in this struggle. We are constantly at work to finish that project, make this grade, impress that boss, make that amount of money. These things are bad, but when we find ourselves constantly surrounded by papers, folders, and assignments and we don’t allow ourselves to rest, we forget why we do the things we do.
I get so caught up in making sure I get the grade and forget why I am getting an education. I get so caught up in trying to impress my boss, that I forget why I work for her. It is easy to get so caught up in the busyness of the world and forget who we belong to. It’s as simple as this: complete tasks well and rest well. We are at work for a better purpose, for the Kingdom.

You are enough for Jesus, let Him fill you up with energy. Let Him supply you with joy. The work you do, in anything, can bring God glory and He has entrusted you with it. So, serve Him well. Choose joy in this. Then, rest well and be at peace. God created the earth in six days. That is a lot of things. He is good that way. Then on the seventh, He rested. That’s God, He doesn’t need to rest, but He chose to. Our bodies need it, that is why He wants us to have a sabbath. Even in ministry, it is important that we remember who is fueling it and rest in Him. Sometimes, it is great to set aside the work and just hang out with God.

“Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”     1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

___________________

“Whatever you do, work heartily, as for the Lord and not for men, knowing that from the Lord you will receive the inheritance as your reward. You are serving the Lord Christ.”     Colossians 3:23&24

___________________

“So then, there remains a Sabbath rest for the people of God, for whoever has entered God’s rest has also rested from his works as God did from his. Let us therefore strive to enter that rest, so that no one may fall by the same sort of disobedience. For the word of God is living and active, sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing to the division of soul and of spirit, of joints and of marrow, and discerning the thoughts and intentions of the heart. And no creature is hidden from his sight, but all are naked and exposed to the eyes of him to whom we must give account.”     Hebrews 4:9-11

http://initiativedallas.com

Leave a Reply

