Celebrating Uniqueness

Time to dip apples in honey and taste the sweetness of life!

It is the beginning of the Jewish holiday marathon season.

Rosh Hashanah!

Shana tova!

Chag Sameach!

Sukkot!

Yom Kippur.

I once asked my Moroccan friend whose family is Hassidic, what are the holidays about? One word. “Food.” He continued to explain, “We win, we feast, we loose, we fast.” I would continue to add that the back bone of the food are those who share it, “family.”

There something unique about Israeli culture. I moved to Israel last year the day before Rosh Hashanah, the Jewish New Year. I’m not Jewish, I just had an opportunity to live and teach dance for one year in this controversial yet inspiringly unique country. This year, I’m surrounded by my real blood family, dipping apples in honey, and giving thanks for the sweetness of life. I’m remember people back in Israel who reminded me this past year what really matters in life. Israel might not always be correct on controversial topics, but Israel is unique, and in is the differences that make it great. The humanity of family values highlight the commonalties amidst controversies.

Read more: http://www.timesofisrael.com/the-case-for-difference-what-makes-israel-great/

Leave a Reply

